Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

NPF Draftees On Finalists List for Lowe's Senior Class Award

The NPF is so proud to see 5 of the 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior Class Award are 2012 NPF Draftees! They include Valerie Arioto of Cal, Michelle Moultrie of Florida, Nikia Williams of Washington, and Christi Orgeron of  Louisiana-Lafayette, (overall draft choices  # 8, # 12, # 16 and # 20 respectively by the USSSA Florida Pride) and Stephanie Ricketts of Hawaii (drafted # 10 overall by the Chicago Bandits). The Lowe's Senior Class Award is given annually to a student-athlete classified as an NCAA Division I senior and has notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. NPF would like to congratulate all 10 finalists for the award and wish each of them the best of luck. Click here to vote for your favorite player. The Lowe's Senior Class Award has existed since 2007 and has been awarded to an NPF draftee in 4 of its 5 years of existence with Arizona's Caitlin Lowe becoming the first recipient in 2007. She was followed by Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher in 2008. Stacey Nelson from the University of Florida received the award in 2009, followed by Alabama's Charlotte Morgan in 2010. Both Lowe and Morgan currently play for the USSSA Florida Pride.

To see the full release on the 10 Finalists click here.

2012 Finalists
(*) Denotes 2012 NPF Draftee

Valerie Arioto- California*
Katelyn Boyd- Arizona State
Mallory Duran-Sellers- Southern Illinois
Julie Fernandez- Lehigh
Ashley Hansen- Stanford
Michelle Moultrie- Florida*
Christi Orgeron- Louisiana Lafayette*
Cassie Reilly-Boccia- Alabama
Stephanie Ricketts- Hawaii*
Nikia Williams- Washington*

Past Winners
(*) Denotes Drafted by NPF Team

2007- Caitlin Lowe- Arizona*
2008- Angela Tincher- Virginia Tech*
2009- Stacey Nelson- Florida*
2010- Charlotte Morgan- Alabama*
2011- Chelsea Kelley- Radford