Pride take Game Two of the Series


For Immediate Release                                                                          Contact: Stephanie Hayes

         Assistant Director of Marketing


                                                                                                                        321-697-3634 (office)


USSSA Florida Pride Take Game Two against the Tennessee Diamonds

Kissimmee, Fla. – The threat of rain didn’t stop the USSSA Florida Pride from taking to the field tonight at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex for game two of a four game series against the Tennessee Diamonds. After a 5-4 victory in game one, the Pride extended their winning streak with a 3-0 shutout over the visiting team.

Starting in the circle for the Pride was Katie Burkhart who recorded the win, allowing only three hits on the contest and striking out eight.

Becca Heteniak shouldered the loss for the Diamonds, allowing three runs on six hits and striking out only two.

The Pride scored first in the bottom of the second. A double from rookie Charlotte Morgan was followed by a double from Megan Willis, driving Morgan home. Francesca Enea reached next on an error from shortstop Chelsea Spencer, putting runners on the corners, but the pair was left stranded after two outs from Jessica Williams and Kristin Schnake.

The Pride added another run to the board in the bottom of the third when Morgan reached on a fielder’s choice, pushing Amber Flores, who had reached on a double, across the plate.

The Pride struck again in the bottom of the fifth. Spencer’s third error of the game allowed Willis to reach and drive in a run from Tonya Callahan who had reached on a fielder’s choice, leaving runners on the corners and the Pride in a position to score again. A pop-fly to third from Karle Hubbard retired the inning.

The Diamonds were looking for a come-back in the bottom of the seventh when designated player Megan Gibson stepped to the plate with one on and one out. A line drive to foul territory was brilliantly fielded by Morgan at first who then dove to tag out pinch runner Amanda Williams heading back to first in an unassisted double play to end the game.

Game three of the series will take place tomorrow night with the start time slated for 7:05 pm.

The USSSA Florida Pride joined the NPF as a franchise Team in November of 2009, operated by Florida Pride LLC. USSSA managed the Pride Team during 2009, culminating their inaugural season with a second place finish in the Championship Series. USSSA Florida Pride is sponsored by USSSA, the world’s largest amateur sports association, and is headquartered in Kissimmee, Florida.

National Pro Fastpitch is headquartered in Nashville, TN. The League, created to give elite female fastpitch players the opportunity to pursue a professional career in their chosen sport, has operated since 1997 under the names of Women’s Pro Fastpitch (WPF) and Women’s Pro Softball League (WPSL).



Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007