Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Ohio Collegiate Stars Announced

 Akron-OH---The Akron Racers will get the 2011 exhibition season underway against the some of the best collegiate players from several of the area colleges and universities.

In a three-game series beginning on Thursday, June 2 at 8 p.m., the exhibition series coined, “On the Road with the Racers,” will feature the Racers facing off against collegiate softball stars from several different colleges. The June 2nd event takes place at Canal Park. The 16 finalists for the OHSAA Softball Titles will be the guests of Marathon Oil at the game. Marathon has purchased 20 tickets for each of the 16 teams to attend the event. Earlier in the day at Firestone Stadium, home of the Akron Racers, the teams will begin play for the coveted championship trophies in each division to be contested on Saturday, June 4th.

The team is comprised of players from the University of Akron, Cleveland State University, Kent State University, Youngstown State, Wright State and Ohio State.

Collegiate All-Star Team Roster

Heather Bauer- Pitcher/Second Base, Akron

Jessica Burt- Outfield, Cleveland State

Jessica Carmichael- Third Base, Kent

Alex Feltes-Third Base, Akron

Sarah Earley- Shortstop, Akron

Olivia Hegedus- Outfield, Akron

DeDe Justice-Catcher-Mississippi

Sharon Palma, Pitcher, Wright State

Amy Powell-Catcher, Cleveland State

Courtney Pruner-UT, Ohio State

Kristina Rendle-Second Base, Youngstown State

Alex Riedeman-Pitcher, Akron

Sarah Stromack- Catcher, Akron

Reba Tutt-UT, Pittsburgh


The Players who have Ohio roots include Bauer (Medina), Burt (Elyria), Feltes (Rocky River), Powell (Solon), Hegedus (Perrysburg), Carmichael (Dalton) and Pruner (Ellet) were all born and raised in the Buckeye state.

Tickets are available by call 330.376.8188 or on game day at each of the three stadium box offices. Gates open one hour prior to the scheduled game time.